top of page
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:

A Letter From Zeta Tau Alpha

Recruitment week is the first of many firsts. It may be your first-time being away from home, your first-time meeting so many new friends, or your first-time hearing about the opportunities that Greek life offers. These new experiences can be overwhelming,

but trust me - this is the start of an unforgettable, worthwhile journey.

My first Greek experience was LSU homecoming. I grew up near the LSU Campus and have always worn LSU purple and gold. During the week of Homecoming, my family and I would walk up and down sorority row admiring the giant pomp structures. We would stop at the ZTA house (being a ZTA legacy) to take pictures, tour the house and enjoy the food. Traditions, like homecoming, have added to the enjoyment of my college experience and will add to yours as well.

My first recruitment party was everything I had heard it would be. I remember being welcomed feeling overwhelming by the in-sync bouncing, clapping and singing. As the conversations started, I found my nerves went away, and I was able to learn so much about these amazing sorority women. As I continued to each party, I found that these connections and conversations left me with a sense of belonging and a need to be a part of the LSU Greek system.

The first friendships I made during my college experience started during recruitment week. I received support and encouragement from my Gamma Chi group and from the women inside each house. These women have become some of my best friends. My advice is to get to know your Gamma Chi group and take on the experience together. Also, don’t be afraid to open up to your Gamma Chi; she is there to guide

you!

My first sense of home at ZTA was when I was told about the sisterhood and values that the organization was based upon. Here at ZTA we’re young women enthusiastic about making lifelong friendship, becoming leaders, being involved in philanthropy and most of all becoming the best person you can be. Finally, the end of Recruitment week begins with the best day of the year: Bid Day! I received my bid to Zeta Tau Alpha and joined 300+ women on the lawn of the ZTA house at LSU as well as a sisterhood that reaches across the nation. I compliment ZTA for challenging me to always be my best self and providing opportunities that have shaped who I am today.

Choosing to go Greek will provide opportunities for you the next four years of growth in leadership, philanthropy and lasting friendships. The experience is what you make of it! My suggestion is for you to jump right in and be involved in the chapter.

Remember to not only be yourself, but also to believe in yourself. I wish you the best recruitment week!

Zeta, Love and Mine

Mary Katherine Arotin | Zeta Tau Alpha President


bottom of page