top of page
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:

A Letter From Alpha Phi

Hey, yall! My name is Elise Curole and I am the Chapter President of Alpha Phi. I just want to start out by officially welcoming you all to LSU!! All of PHC is so excited to see new tigers become apart of one of a kind sisterhoods, and we can't wait to meet y'all!

Three years ago, I was in the same position as you all are now. After graduating from an all-girl high school, I still yearned for a sisterhood to call home and felt as though

PHC recruitment was right up my alley. The only person in my family who was ever Greek was my father and he was a KA; so, I entered this process not really knowing what to expect from a PHC perspective. In all honesty, I had the time of my life during recruitment. I became good friends with other girls in my gamma chi group and met some of the most incredible Greek women who made me so proud to be attending LSU.

Of course with ups come downs, and at times recruitment isn't always as glamorous as it may seem. We live in Louisiana, ladies. I sweating like a sinner in church. I was sweating in places that I didn't even think you could sweat in, lol. So just make sure you have lots of coffee filters to dab with, mini fans and tons of water to stay hydrated!!!!! Also please make sure you eat. I'm not sure how I managed to survive off of altoids for the week but I would not recommend. Take advantage of the food booths that PHC sets up for you. Make sure you are prompt and on time for each party. I had days where I had to run all the way down sorority row to make it to my next party and then I had days where I had hour long breaks. Pace your timing as best as you can. Call a close family member or friend after each party, preferably someone who isn't quite in the loop of Greek life, and tell them all about your experience at that particular house. That way this person could share a great deal of insight with you and

help you make tough decisions. They'll be able to tell you how you sounded coming out of each party and believe me this helps a lot. And of course, try your best to remain open-minded as you meet each sorority. Every single Greek woman is so excited to meet you so be on the look out for some of the greatest connections you will ever make.

Everyone will have different recruitment experiences. Some will have the absolute time of their lives each day and some will get very stressed each day. What I will say about recruitment is that you get out what you put into it. If you remain positive throughout the week, then you will have a positive experience. And at the end of the day, you will all find your forever homes away from home and gain the most unique sisterhood that you ever could've dreamed of. All it takes is one chapter and sisterhood to make all of the difference in our community; so search for the one that speaks volumes to you and what you stand for. Always remember that no matter what the weather, we are all Greek together!! Good luck, girlies! I can't wait to meet you all!

Geaux Tigers!

Elise Curole | Alpha Phi President

P.S. horror story about my recruitment experience (because everyone has one): I had just walked out of party and picked up my purse from the front lawn. It was infested and covered with ants!!! Conveniently, my next party started in 10 minutes so naturally I was freaking out. My peanut butter sandwich was a goner. But so many girls helped me clean out my purse and make sure I was on time for my next party. And that's what recruitment is all about ladies!!! Being there for women that we get to call sisters!

bottom of page